Blog Post #7: Writing and Rewriting

Shope’s writing brought me a sense of familiarity. At some point, I could see myself and my way of writing – rewriting in the experiences she described and other writers’ stories that she told.

That’s me who takes forever to write an 800-word blog, and when it’s done, it’s done – the editing was carried out by the same time the words were being inputted. Grammar and spelling errors, thesaurus, logics, agreement… I’m a perfectionist, I can’t wait to come back to the previous sentence, the newborn paragraph, looking for things to be fixed. The knowledge that what I just wrote is full of flaws won’t leave me alone to move on to the next part. I need to, I must go back. Writing and rewriting – I can’t separate one from another. To me, writing is rewriting, and rewriting is not far from actual writing.

That’s also me whose essays are “full of things that don’t match, things that don’t belong, and objects of rare beauty that can scarcely be seen for the clutter” (Shope, 2002). As previously mentioned, my writings are usually, if not always, packed with irrelevant facts and off-the-topic discussion. Thus, my editing process is mainly eliminating the unnecessary pieces and limiting the overdetailed rambling to minimum length. It is, to be honest, the hardest thing ever to me when it comes to writing. The shortening saves time and brings more sense to the readers, but as the writer, it takes me five times longer to complete my work. And taking away words somehow feels like ripping off the spirit and energy and emotions that I invested in my writing. Like a part of me is removed with it.

Writing – rewriting is a time – energy consuming process. But that’s how it works. If I don’t do it the way I do, writing and editing at the same time, I would just get stuck in the middle of nowhere since I need to feel satisfied to keep writing. If I don’t ramble at first and keep holding myself back, nothing precious would come out afterwards. So be it the way it is. One should write only if they are capable of rewriting since there is no piece of writing that is excellent from the first draft.

Shope, B. (2002). Vision: A Resource for Writers. Retrieved from Forward Motion For Writers: http://fmwriters.com/Visionback/Issue9/true.htm

 

Leave a Reply

